Sunday Streets Berkeley

Sunday Streets Berkeley.jpg

With the City of Berkeley as a financial partner, Berkeley can join the Open Streets movement along with 70 other cities in the U.S., bringing the long-term community benefits of this exciting event to Berkeley.

What is Sunday Streets?

Sunday Streets (also called “Open Streets”) closes streets to automobile traffic for a day so that people may use the space for just about any activity other than driving. The streets become parks as foot traffic replaces car traffic. People bike, jog and dance, meet up with friends, meet someone new, and play. Everyone from businesses and community organizations to musicians and artists use the space creatively, engaging the public and providing spontaneity and discovery. People get out and connect with their community in a transformative way. This temporary public space inspires creativity and change for the better, on that day - and beyond. It sounds simple, yet it really is very new and exciting.

Sponsorship Opportunities

See pictures of Sunday Streets Berkeley on October 14, 2012

Promoting Economic Development, Public Health, Car-Free Transportation, and More

Open Streets are increasingly common in cities seeking new and fun ways to achieve economic, environmental, social, and public health goals. These goals are shared across business, civic and community groups.

Open Streets offer new economic opportunities for commercial districts. In a recent study of an Open Streets event in St. Louis, 73% of attendees spent money at a restaurant or store along the route, 68% became aware of a store or restaurant that was new to them, and 94% responded “Yes - Positively” to the question: “Does Open Streets change your feelings about the city?”

In city after city, initial opponents turn into big supporters after experiencing Open Streets, all vying to host the event in their neighborhoods.

Sunday Streets Berkeley - October 14, 2012 - Downtown to North Shattuck

Almost 20 blocks of Shattuck Avenue are proposed to be car-free. Except for major arterials, intersections on Shattuck will be closed to east-west traffic crossing Shattuck. Programming will showcase the Berkeley Arts District.

Sunday Streets Berkeley will be a celebration of local businesses and organizations, especially along the route. Storefronts will be unobstructed, and business owners will be encouraged to promote commerce and visibility by setting out seating on the street, hosting activities, and otherwise inviting interest and community.

The Sunday Streets Berkeley working committee consists of the Office of Mayor Tom Bates, Councilmember Jesse Arreguin, Livable Berkeley, the East Bay Bicycle Coalition, the Downtown Berkeley Association, and the North Shattuck Association.

 

Email your elected officials and let them know you support Sunday Streets Berkeley! 

Mayor Tom Bates: mayor@cityofberkeley.info

Council Members

Linda Maio: lmaio@cityofberkeley.info

Darryl Moore: dmoore@cityofberkeley.info

Max Anderson: manderson@cityofberkeley.info

Jesse Arreguin: jarreguin@cityofberkeley.info

Laurie Capitelli: lcapitelli@cityofberkeley.info

Susan Wengraf: swengraf@cityofberkeley.info

Kriss Worthington: kworthington@cityofberkeley.info

Gordon Wozniak: gwozniak@cityofberkeley.info